Government To Undertake Comprehensive Inventory Of Public Buidlings

The Minister for Works and Housing, Francis Asenso-Boakye (MP) has announced the government’s plans to undertake a comprehensive audit of all its landed properties across the country with the inauguration of an 8-member member committee today in Accra.

This, according to the Minister, has been necessitated by the responsibility of the Ministry to keep track of all government properties across the country, capture their current state, check their integrity and where necessary, recover government landed properties that are sited on illegal lands.

Inaugurating the Committee, the Minister tasked the members, chaired by the Member of Parliament for Abetifi, Hon Bryan Acheampong to among other things, validate the exercise and location of Government buildings offices, and residential accommodation, determine the functionality of Government buildings, offices, and accommodation as well as compile data on properties occupied by retired public servants who continue to live in official bungalows and, or bequeathed those properties to relations.

The Committee is also to collate data on properties that have either been converted to other uses or sold outright, reconcile, and prepare reports of such properties. 

To ensure that the Committee works effectively, the Minister urged members to liaise with the Ministries, Departments, and Agencies (MDAs) and Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in carrying out the exercise successfully.

The Minister was hopeful that the committee, which comprises of distinguished public servants from different endeavors can conduct the exercise in accordance with the tenets of the public service, and in the interest of the country. 

The other members of the Committee include Mad. Glory Nana Yaa Nartey of the Public Works Department (PWD, Prestige), Dr. Anim Odame, Snr. Technical Advisor of the National Development Planning Commission (NDPC), Mr. Solomon Osei Gyamera of the Ministry of Finance, and Mrs. Laura Tetteh of the Lands Commission.

The rest are Mrs. Joyce Wereko-Ampim Opoku of the Administrator General, Mr. Collins Atta Tabiri of, National Investment Bank, and Mr. Daniel Nii Tackie, (RTD) of the Auditor General.

The Committee is expected to complete work and submit its report within three (3) months.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *