The Minister for Works and Housing, Hon. Francis Asenso-Boakye has charged the Board of Directors of the Architectural and Engineering Services Limited (AESL) to explore opportunities beyond Ghana especially in the landlocked countries of West Africa.

Speaking at the inaugural ceremony of the new Board of Directors of the AESL, the Works and Housing Minister said AESL being a prime government institution with a lot of expertise and experience in the built environment should consider to extend their services beyond the territories of Ghana to benefit other countries.

Having recounted the numerous challenges, the company has battled over the years, the Minister commended the immediate past Board and the new administration for their efforts in restoring AESL to its rightful state.

“Since the current administration took over, the company has seen drastic improvement and have achieved quite a lot in about 3 years. They have now been able to regain some of the contracts from government institutions”, he added

Hon. Asenso-Boakye therefore urged the new Board to continue from where the old board left off by working hard and collaborating effectively with management of the company to push the company to the next height.

He however advised the Board to focus on their mandate of providing strategic direction to the management and desist from engaging in the direct day to day administration of the company.

The Chairperson of the Board, Professor Kwame Asamoah, on behalf of members, expressed his profound gratitude to the President, His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo-Addo for honouring them with the opportunity to serve on the AESL Board.

He assured the Minister of the Board’s commitment to provide excellent leadership to ensure that AESL plays a impactful role in the President’s infrastructural development. “We are mindful of the sacred trust impose in us and this is an opportunity to serve our country and much work awaits us to further transform AESL”, he added

Other members of the Board are Arc. Isaac Agyei Marfo, Rev. Stephen Osei Yaw, Prof. De-Graft Owusu-Manu, Mr. Basko A. Kante, Esq., Mad. Susana Asamoah and Hon. Dakoa Newman.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *